2007 Wakefest & Hong Kong National Wakeboard Competition

This event took place on 1st and 2nd July 2007 at Tai Po Waterfront Park. It was organized by the Hong Kong Water Ski Association Wakeboard Division. I have the privilege to be one of the official photographers for the event.

The weather was quite unsettled on the 1st day. Luckily the weather turned much better on the 2nd day final events. I took over 3000 shots for the event. Unfortunately, I only have time to process a few.

The first 2 shots showed some typical wake jumps

The next couple of shots showed some of the advance tricks

A couple of candid shots

The women open final winners on the podium from left to right, Bridget CHEN, Kiyo and Manon. The gentleman on the left is Mr Leo To, the chairman of the wakeboard division of the Hong Kong Water Ski Association.

The winners of the men open finals from left to right, Ka Choi WAN, Ronnie CHEUNG and De Oliver PETRUCCI.

You can see the full list of the results here

You can see the full album for processed photos here. There are not too many photos here at the moment. I will add more photos later when I have time to select and process a few more.

If you were a participant of the competition, you may want to see your own photos. I have about 3000 shots in the following galleries. It may take you awhile to find yourself though. I am sorry I did not have time to process these photos, so their quality will not be as good as those posted here.

Day 1 Preliminary Rounds

Day 2 Finals and Prize Presentation

7 thoughts on “2007 Wakefest & Hong Kong National Wakeboard Competition

  1. Thanks Chris!

    No I did not use a waterproof case. My camera and lens did get wet, but it’s OK. All I had to do was to make sure I cleaned them up properly after I got home at night. Actually, my camera and lenses have not been so clean in a long time (I hardly ever clean them usually ;P)

  2. roland, awesome. i love to see stuff like this. looks like you got a good seat on the boat! wondering if you used flash for some of these shots? and i guess you are using the 70-200 2.8 for most of them? also, not sure if i would get in the water around tai po! haha.

  3. Hi Jesse,

    The speedboats for wakeboarding are quite small actually, but photographers got to sit right at the end of the boat, so we were at a prime position for shooting.

    No, I did not use a flash, probably not too useful anyway as the wakeboarders were quite far away from the boat, and yes, I was using the 70-200mm f2.8L IS.

    You are absolutely right, the water at Tai Po are quite polluted. I personally would not go into the water. Pity the competitors.

  4. Roland,

    You suck! I live in the wrong country. It’s a price I pay for living tax free – all comfy and no excitement in way of extreme sports. Awesome action photos further proving you don’t need a 1-series to produce top notch photographs.

    Today is our Sultan’s 61st birthday, exactly a year today when Eric Tsang visited us to produce a TVB documentary. I’ve just published a feature article:

    http://shimworld.wordpress.com/2007/07/15/shimworld-feature-eric-tsang/

    Peace!

Leave a Reply

