Roasted Leg of Lamb

I roasted a leg of lamb last time I invited some friends for dinner. You will find hundreds of recipe for roasted leg of lamb if you do an internet search. However, this is my very own original recipe.

I bought a boned leg of lamb for roasting. The weight was about 1.9kg. It should be enough for at least 6 persons. You can use a whole leg with bone, but the roasting time would be longer and it would take more effort to carve the meat. Yes, I am a lazy cook.

Marinate the leg with salt and freshly grounded black pepper.

I often use the “quick roast” method. Pre-heat the oven to 220°C. Roast for about 15 minutes, turn the leg and baste with some stock. Turn the temperature down to 170°C. Turn and baste the leg about every 15 minutes. Roast for about 40 minutes if you like it rare and about 60 minutes if you like it well done.

After I took out the leg from the roasting tin, I deglazed a sauce with some stock, Balsamic vinegar, Port wine and raisins. This Balsamic vinegar, port wine and Raisins sauce is an Italian/Portuguese inspired sauce.

Serve the carved meat with your favorite vegetables on a hot plate.

3 thoughts on “Roasted Leg of Lamb

  1. You sure know how to dine in style!!

    Very nice blend of colors and texture! The meat looks so tender and full of flavors.

    I bet the taste is equally special as the photos.

    I’d like to order in advance… Party of 2 please….

    Thx!

  2. Yum… very tasty… Eventhough, I just have some lamb last night, your secret recipe and your photos simply make me want more!! ;p I’m hungry again. Keep this up, and I think I will need a cargo ship to take me to HK, as I’ll be too heavy for any plane to fly me there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

