Jolin Tsai Hong Kong Concert 蔡依林香港演唱會

I am going to post a series of articles on concert photography. This was Jolin‘s first concert in Hong Kong and this was the opening concert that kicked off her world concert tour of 2006. Jolin is a very dynamic performer on stage with colorful costumes. Besides being a good singer, she is also a very good dancer.

Concert photography poses many challenges to a photographer with constantly changing light level and different color stage lighting that can cause havoc for skin tone and white balance. I am not a member of the press and I did not have a special pass to get on the stage to shoot these photos. Admittedly, I pulled out all strings to get a good seat that was as close to the stage as possible, but I was only on the 5th row of seats at one of the corners of the stage (it was a square shaped stage with seatings on all 4 sides of the stage). I want to show what is possible even from normal “paid” seats provided you can get a fairly good seat, not like 50 rows away.

All these shots were taken with my Canon 20D with Canon EF 70-200mm f2.8L IS + EF 1.4X II TC.

You can see the complete collection here.

5 thoughts on “Jolin Tsai Hong Kong Concert 蔡依林香港演唱會

  1. you really did a great job with these. i remember seeing them on dpreview. they are so sharp and vivid. i could only dream of getting so many great shots as you did with my sigma 18-200 OS!

    • Hi David,

      If you have read the main text above, I did write that I used the Canon EF 70-200mm f2.8L IS + EF 1.4X II TC for the photos. I don’t think anyone would consider that as a “normal” zoom lens.

Leave a Reply

