Canon EOS 40D already available in Hong Kong?

Canon Hong Kong officially published a press release for the new Canon EOS 40D  on 21st August 2007.

It has been reported in a local photographic forum that the list price in Hong Kong will be HK$8,980 for the body and HK$11,980 for the kit with the EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM. I would expect the street price of the 40D to come in at below HK8,000 and the kit to be just over HK$10,000.

It is generally expected by the information currently available around the web that it should be reached the stores by early September. However, on the same forum, another member has reported seeing the new EOS 40D at a store in Golden Shopping Arcade.  Another forum member reported that he was told by a salesman that they would have stock of the 40D coming in within the next few days.

I have asked my friendly contact at a local store to contact me as soon as they have pricing and stock availability information. I will report back as soon as I have further details.

As I am looking forward to get a new 40D to supplement my aging 20D. I will write a review after I get my hands on a new 40D.

6 thoughts on “Canon EOS 40D already available in Hong Kong?

  1. Hi,
    great blog site especially the info on the new Canon toys !!

    I see from your postings that you use a camera shop in Hong Kong – could you recommend one to me as I am going to be in HK for a few days between the 13th and 15th September and I fancied picking up a 1.4x Canon convertor.

    Hope you don’t mind me asking but it’s always worth consulting a local!!

    Regards

    Barry

  2. Hi Barry,

    Thanks! I am glad you like my blog!

    The camera shop I usually shop from is called Echo Photo & Audio (tel:23760478) at Hankow Road, Tsim Sha Tsui district on Kowloon side. It’s a small camera shop diagonally opposite HMV record store. Although it is not a big store, they are good and honest store and sell at good prices. Since they are not a big store, they may not have everything in stock, but if the distributor have the item you want in stock, they can usually get it for you within the same day or the next.

    Other camera stores worth trying (yes, I have shopped from these stores too) includes:-

    Tin Cheung Camera at Carnarvon Road, Tsim Sha Tsui. they are a big shop with a wide variety of camera lenses and accessories. website: http://www.tincheungcamera.com.hk

    Wing Shing Photo Supplies Co at 57. Sai Yeung Choi Street. Kowloon (tel 2396 6886). This is also a big store with stocks of large variety of cmaeras and lenses.

    DC Fever at Unit 327 & 339, 3/F, Sim City, 47-51 Shan Tung Street, Mong Kok, Kowloon. (tel 2781 1780)

    You can also try large chain stores like:-

    Broadway. They have many branches including in main shopping areas like Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and Causeway Bay. Although they are a large chain store, depending on your payment method (cash or different kinds of credit cards) you can often bargain with them to get a better price, usually cheaper than their officially listed prices.

    Citicall is another chain to try. They are similar to Broadway with many branches around the city. You can also bargain with them like Broadway.

    Happy shopping in Hong Kong!

  3. Hi, I’ve checked the website you wrote here, tincheungcamera.com.hk and I see they send to Romania too – which I’m from, at a reasonable price. Are they serious do you have any idea? I don’t want to lose my money..thanks a lot!

  4. Thanks for your quick response!
    I’ve read your review on the 40D, I might buy it in the near future, should I buy it with the kit lens or some others? I don’t want to spend a lot on lens – even though I know they are as important as the body, but first I’ll be happy having the body and maybe a decent portrait lens. Any suggestions? It would be my first DSLR so.. I accept any advices.

  5. Hi alex,

    The 40D kit in Hong Kong comes with the EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM, which is a fine lens to start with. However, if all you want is a good portrait lens, then you might consider just buy the body and get either the EF 50mm f/1.4 USM or EF 85mm f/1.8 USM. Both of these prime lenses would function as very good portrait lens on th 40D, optically superior to the kit lens and also significantly cheaper as well. The tradeoff of course is that you lose the zoom range and wide angle capability. But if all you do is mainly portrait work, then that may not be important.

Leave a Reply

