Eason Moving on Stage Concert with Canon EOS 40D

Eason Chan’s 2007 concert in Hong Kong started on the 24th October, just a few days ago. I went to opening concert. It was my first concert shoot since I got the new Canon EOS 40D, so I think it would be interesting to see the ability of the 40D in handling the difficult task of shooting a concert. Lighting of the concert was pretty poor in general for photography. The overall light level was low and certainly not one of the brighter lit concerts. However, I think the 40D did quite well under the situation.

All photos were shot with 40D with EF 70-200mm f2.8L IS USM. You can click on the photos for a larger view.

3 thoughts on “Eason Moving on Stage Concert with Canon EOS 40D

  1. Fantastic!!

    I’m a beginner in photography and it amazes me how it’s POSSIBLE at all to take such great concert pictures as an audience who don’t have special access as an official concert photographer.

    Your lens used (i.e. Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM) is going to be my reference : ) By the way, I’m getting the Canon 40D as my first DSLR camera body.

    As for starter lens, i’m considering the Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM. Will appreciate any comments you can give : D

    Keep it UP!
    Norman

  2. Hi Norman,

    Thanks! I am glad you liked my work.

    As for the starter lens, the EF 17-40mm f/4L is obviously a very good lens to go with the 40D. Another option would be the EF-S 17-55mm f2.8 IS USM. Both are good choices. The 17-55mm is probably the better choice to go with the 40D IMHO, but the benefit of the 17-40mm f4L would be that if you intend to upgrade to a full frame camera later, it will still work.

    Roland

  3. Great photos! Any chance of EXIF data being posted, with more details of the settings for each shot? Thanks so much for sharing these!

Leave a Reply

