Canon EOS 50D Street Price in Hong Kong

The Canon EOS 50D has been officially launched in Hong Kong and can be found on the streets since 2 days ago. The initial supply should be tight as usual. The following is a list of the official list price from Canon Hong Kong. Most shops should be selling at or close to these  prices for the intial batch.

Suggested Retail Price:

EOS 50D Body: $10,280

EOS 50D Kit Set: $13,480 (with EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM)

EOS 50D Kit Set: $15,080 (with EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS)

I have contacted Echo Photo & Audio and this is the prices they are offering to readers of my site:-

EOS 50D Body: $9,000

EOS 50D Kit Set: $11,700 (with EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM)

EOS 50D Kit Set: $13,000 (with EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS)

53 thoughts on “Canon EOS 50D Street Price in Hong Kong

  1. I am interested to buy two cameras:
    Canon EOS 50D with EF-S18-200MM f/3,5-5,6 IS
    Canon EOS 450D with EF-S18-200MM f/3,5-5,6 IS
    Nikon D90 with AFS DX 18-200/3.5-5.6 VR G IF ED
    How much will cost and way to sent to Barcelona-SPAIN
    Waiting your news
    Best regards
    FRancesc RIBAS

  2. Hi Francesc,

    I am not a camera dealer. I posted street prices for the 50D in Hong Kong for the interest my my readers living in Hong Kong or would be coming to Hong Kong.

    If you are interested in buying cameras in Hong Kong. You can read my “Recommended Camera Shops in Hong Kong” article:-
    https://rolandlim.wordpress.com/2007/08/26/recommended-camera-shops-in-hong-kong/

    Both Echo Photo & Audio and Tin Cheung Cameras would do shipping to other countries. You can call Echo by phone or visit Tin Cheung’s web-site for more details.

  3. Dear Roland,

    Thanks for all your very valuable information. I’m of on an around the world trip in December for 6 months and want to get a decent camera for the adventure. My fist stop will be in HK and I was thinking of getting an EOS 50d there. It seems like it will be much cheaper than here in UK. The rates you have quoted from Echo Photo & Audio seem particularly good, but it would be nice to confirm that rate and that they have stock before I arrive. Do you happen to know if they have an email address? I’ve searched for them on Google, but found nothing.

    Many thanks,
    Justin.

  4. Hi Roland,
    I want to start of by saying after reading your review on the canon 50d, I finally made a decision on what dslr to purchase. Your review was so in depth and I learned a lot. This will be my first dslr and I had a hard time deciding on which dslr to buy. I have a few questions I wanted to ask you if you don’t mind.

    I am from the US and I feel like hong kong might have better prices on dslrs. My mother will be in hong kong next week and I am considering to go purchase the 50d at your recommended store, Echo Photo & Audio. To get the price for being your reader, do we mention your name?

    Also, I am looking for a good zoom lense to go with 50d (or other future canon dslrs) Do you recommend any that are reasonably priced? Nothing too expensive. Something to use with the kit lens that comes with the dslr.

    One more- As I said, I am been debating (researching) over many different cameras. Like nikon vs. canon, and what model. I will be going back to school for photography so as a student, I want to make the right choice on a dslr.

    Thank you so much, I look forward to hearing your response.

    Best,
    Jackie

  5. Hi Jackie,

    Yes, just mention my name that their shop was recommended by article.

    What kind of zoom are you looking for? General purpose, telephoto or wide angle zoom? And what price range specifically? “Reasonably” priced is not specific enough for me to know what to recommend to you.

    As to whether to buy Canon or Nikon, there are pros & cons for both system. Both brands make good cameras and you should get good results with either, so do worry too much which system you get into. It’s all a matter of personal preference. Just remember the camera is merely a gear and it’s the photographer that makes the good photos.

  6. Hi Roland,

    Thank you for your response.

    I was planning on purchasing the 50d kit set with EF-S 18-200mm. I have a nikon zoom that is 70-300mm for my film camera and have loved it. I am thinking the kit lense 18-200mm will work out for me. Price range would be below $1000 US.
    Any recommendations for a telephoto and a wide angle zoom in the price range below $1000 US?

    Thank you Roland~

  7. Hi Jackie,

    If you are getting the 50D kit with the EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS then you probably would not have urgent need to get a telephoto zoom as well. Then you can consider getting the EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM for wide angle work.

    However, if you get the 50D kit with EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM instead, then you can consider getting the EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM or the EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS for telephoto work and the EF-S 10-22mm f3.5-4.5 USM for wide angle work.

  8. Hi Roland,

    This post automatically links my entry about the Canon 50D prices here in the Philippines. I was in Hong Kong on the day you posted this article and the price difference published here and there is around Php 10,000 or around 1.6K HKD. I wanted to buy there but I am quite concerned about the warranty as Canon Philippines don’t honor international warranty on bodies but on lenses.

    Patrick

  9. Hi Roland,

    Thanks a lot for very useful information.

    I will be travelling to Hong Kong on November 10th (then 3 weeks in China Mainland and back to Hong Kong for 2-3 days at the beginning). I was planning to purchase 50D (and if available 5DMkII + 16-35 f/2.8 L II as well). Please let me know if “special offer” for readers of your WEB page will be still valid:)

    BTW, do you know when 5DMKII will be available in HK?

    Cheers,

    Rafal.

  10. Hi Rafal,

    It’s not a special offer as such, but it was the price that Echo quoted for me and should honor that price for shoppers who mention my name.

    The prices of cameras would usually go down in price with time, so by the time you arrive in Hong Kong during Nov, the price of the 50D should at least be the price I quoted or maybe even cheaper if you are lucky.

    As for 5D Mark II, there is still no solid news as to when it would arrive in Hong Kong. My guess would be around end of Oct or early Nov.

  11. Dear friend,

    Thankyou for your instant response.Now another favour, can you tell the difference between chinese & japanese make of 430 flash.

    thanks again

  12. Hi chsunder,

    As far as I know, Canon makes all DSLR camera bodies and lenses in Japan. I am not sure if they make accessories like flashes in China.

    Theoretically, if Canon are making the same model flash in Japan and China, they should be completely identical and there should not be anyway to differentiate between the 2 by simply looking at the flashes. However, Canon usually would put the country of origin on their products. So if it was made in Japan, you should find it printed somewhere on the flash and similarly if it was made in China.

  13. Hey there! I was wondering about something…I’ve been looking at the Canon EOS Digital Rebel XSi and the Canon EOS 50d. I was wondering which you would recommend over the other?

  14. Hi Vixx,

    If budget is not a concern, there is no doubt that the 50D would be a better camera overall than the Rebel XSi.

    However, if the Rebel is a good camera and if you do not want to spend too much, then it is a good option. It is also much smaller and lighter than the 50D, and may suit people with smaller hands and like lighter camera.

    There are always pros and cons in choosing different cameras. In the end, it’s all a matter of personal choice and preference and I am afraid you are the one who have to make the final decision.

  15. Hello Roland
    Merci pour tous les conseils que tu donnes.
    J’ai appris beaucoup de chose avec tes réponses.
    J’habite la Nouvelle Calédonie et j’ai un copain qui est pilote d’avion et qui va souvent au Japon.
    Peux-tu me donner une adresse de magasin sur Tokio où on peut trouver un bon prix pour acheter un Canon EOS D50 ?
    Si tu peux me donner un site Web d’un magasin japonais ou une adresse e-mail, je pourrai lui donner les indications pour acheter.
    Ou bien, si tu connais les prix qu’ils font, combien ça coûte la-bas.
    J’espère que ma question ne pose pas de problème.
    Merci beaucoup
    Salutations amicales
    Jean-Claude

  16. Hi Jean-Claude,

    As I am not a French speaker, I translated your comment with Google translator. I hope I got your meaning right.

    I am afraid I don’t know much about shopping for cameras in Japan in general. In general, Japanese people are quite honest and you are unlikely to get cheated at camera shops. However, I really have no idea as to where you can buy cameras cheap in Tokyo. I guess you can ask your firend to try big camera stores like Bic Camera.

    I am sorry I cannot be of more help.

  17. Hello Roland:

    Great website! I am looking to purchase a DSLR camera this Thursday while in HK while I’m there and I am considering the Cannon EOS 50D with the kit lens 17-85 mm.

    Are the prices you posted back in Ocotber rather accurate now? I am taking your advice and going to Echo Photo and Audio and talking to Mr. Yip unless you have other suggestions. I look forward to hearing form you.

    Regards,

    Alan

  18. Roland,

    Is it advisable to buy the EOS 50D USA model through Ebay. Is there any different between the USA model and the one sold in Asia?

    The price seems to be a lot more economical bundle with attractive packages. What’s your say?

    By the way, I’m from Singapore.

    • Hi Leon,

      I believe that the 50D sold in US is identical to the one sold in Asia and everywhere else in the world. However, whether it’s worthwhile to buy on eBay or not is something only you can decide for yourself. There are a lot of scams on eBay and many internet camera shops in US who are scammers. They often advertise at a really attractive price but with the tricks they do, you will often end up paying much more than form a reputable dealer. So it really depends on whether the eBay shop you are planning to shop from is a reputable one. If the price sounds to good to be true, then it really is too good to be true. If in doubt, check the store rating on http://www.reselllerratings.com.

  19. Hi Roland,

    I knocked out with the depth and detail you provide, the world could do with more people like yourself. I’ve recently got into photography and was lent a Canon 20D – I got hooked! I’m now looking at the 50D as a purchase and have a friend coming through Hong Kong on 13th Jan. I’d like the 2 lens bundle – can you please (and thank you) guide me to the best place to buy?

    All the very best and happy new year!

    PK

  20. Hi Roland, I live in the US and am interested in the Canon 50D. Went shopping online and find a huge difference in price between the Asian and US models….

    I’m a believer that if the price sounds to good to be true it more than likely is.
    (Some Internet shops want $579.00 Asian model for the same 50d Camera that costs almost $1300.00 here)

    Can you help with why.

    yours, Donna

    • Hi Donna,

      The cheapest legitimate price for 50D you will find in Hong Kong is around US$1,100, even if you can find somewhere real, real cheap, I doubt it will be less than US$1,050. Hong Kong may not be the cheapest place in Asia to buy, but I doubt you’ll find it significantly cheaper in other countries too. Say hypothetically, in some other Asian countries, you can find a real bargain at US$1,000, that would already be US$100 cheaper than in Hong Kong. Even that would be a lot more than the supposed price of US$579.

      I think you are absolutely right about if it sounds too good to be true, it is more than likely to be not true. There are lot of scams on the net. I would not trust a place that advertise the 50D for US$579.

  21. I have the same experience with the huge discrepancy on price when I try to shop online in US. I was told that the price of $579 is made in China??????? and the body is made from plastics instead of magnesium alloy.

    Does anyone know if Canon 50D have a version that has plastic body and made in China????? Or it is a scam to have people buy the “real” model and pay a higher price????

    • Hi Dino,

      If it sounds to good to be true, then it usually is really too good to be true.

      I am pretty sure, Canon does NOT make a cheaper version of the 50D with a plastic body for the China market. If they tell you that, it must be a scam.

      • It sounds like a 500D, it is basically almost the same spec as a 50D, but slower shutter speed and less fine tuning capabilities. On the plus side it has some extra ‘gimmicky’ features like video. It is made out of plastic – and so perhaps they are trying to sell you one of these. Overall it is not a bad camera if you are an amateur and just going to point and click.

        Check out the canon site in the UK, you can do a camera to camera comparison on spec.

  22. Hi Roland,

    I just find your blogs, and it was nice and great.

    I’m just planning to visit HK at this end of month and planning to buy EOS 50D. Could you please advice how much is the price now for body only.

    I’m also interested to buy some compact lenses with a wide angle and also a compact macro lens, what lenses do you recommend for the EOS 50D.

    Thanks in advance.
    Cheers.
    Anthony

    • Hi Anthony,

      Sorry for the late reply. The latest price for the Canon EOS 50D is HK$8,300.

      As for lens recommendation, IMHO, the first choice for wide angle has to be the Canon EF-S 10-22mm (HK$7,750). For a compact macro, you can try the Canon EF-S 60mm (HK$3,100)

  23. Hello!!!
    My sister is traveling around… Macau and Hong Kong and I want to buy a digital camera…
    So i’m thinking what to buy?Canon for sure. But the model i don’t wet the 50d or 40d or 450d. Depends on the price… I’m from Portugal. Can you tell how much is going to cost me, and where is the best place to buy it!
    Thanks for your time
    My e-mail is tomassapage@hotmail.com!

  24. Hi, planning on visiting HK this april and was wondering if you can give us an update on the 50D’s current price at Echo.
    Thank you!

  25. Hi Roland,

    Yesterday I asked my friend to buy me a 40D or a 50D in HK, she was told that the 40D is US$650 and US$850 for the 50D and then when she was about to buy the 50D they told her that it was out of stock and she kept looking in other stores and each store kept telling that its out of stock.

    Is this true or are they up to something? Do you know a store where I can find o 40 or 50D and how much is the current price?

    Thanks Roland.

  26. Hi Roland,

    I am thinking of buying Canon D50 but do not like the quality of the lens that come with it: EF-S18-200MM f/3,5-5,6 IS.

    My plan is therefore to buy the body plus the EF24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens.

    I am not a professional photographer and use the camera mainly for landscape, parties, portraits, outdoor etc. I do not take wildlife and sports.

    For me, the drawback of EF24-105mm f/4L IS USM is it is not wide enough and I hope I can live with it. I really like its superior quality compared to EF-S18-200MM f/3,5-5,6 IS.

    My budget does not allow me to buy a separate wide angle lens, at least not for the time being.

    Grateful for your comments on my plan and sugestion for alternative good quality but not too expensive lens.

    Thanks a lot.
    Grant

    • Hi Grant,

      As you have already suspected, the EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM, although a very good lens, may not be the ideal general purpose lens for 50D as it is not wide enough. In my humble opinion, the much better choice would be the EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM. This lens has excellent optical quality, easily a match for “L” grade zoom lenses. The zoom range also works much better on a cropped frame camera like he 50D, and also a faster lens at f/2.8 compared to the 24-105mm.

  27. Dear Roland,

    I´m from Argentina and I wil be in HK next Monday. I would like to buy a Digital SLR camera, but i don´t have so much money (I´m thinking expense between usd 500/700 with lens included).
    Wich camera would you reccommend me and where i have to buy it?
    Thanks a lot!

    • Hi Yania,

      For your budget, your choice would be very limited. I would suggest the Canon 450D kit, Echo Photo & Audio is selling it for HK$5,000. Of course you can also try other camera shops on my recommended list above.

  28. Hi Roland,

    Thanks for recommending EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM for the D50.

    I now want to buy a telephoto zoom. Do you think EF 70-200mm f/4.0L USM is a good match?

    Thanks again.

    • Hi Grant,

      Yes, the EF 70-200mm f/4 USM is a fine lens with excellent optical quality that should go well with the 50D. However, if you afford the extra price, I would suggest getting the version with IS, which really helps with hand holding.

  29. Hi Roland, nice to read your comments on 50d quite impressive. i would like to know the latest price of Canon EOS 50D in Hong Kong as I am planning to visit Hong Kong next month. Or could you please suggest me the link of ECHO camera shop.
    Thanx in advance.
    Keep up the great job.

  30. The canon Canon EOS 50D is really an amazing camera. The pictures are really aweseome. It think it is really light for its strength. Can anybody recommend a good printer for the camera or is it better to use a copystore?

    • In general, both Canon and Epson make very good inkjet printers with excellent photographic output. You will have more control with the printing quality by printing your own photos, but it will be more expensive than printing at a shop. You’ll have to make your own decision.

Leave a Reply

