My Photos Published In iChina Magazine

ichina-blog

I was contacted by iChina magazine last month after they read one of my blog post. They were very impressed with my food shots of the restaurant in the post and as they were planning on writing an article on the restaurant for the March 2009 issue, they negotiated with me to use my photos on that issue. Well, they have been published now.

You can see the article on the following link, go to page 39/52.

http://issuu.com/ichinamag/docs/ichina200903

18 thoughts on “My Photos Published In iChina Magazine

  1. Hey Roland,

    GOOD stuff!!! Great shots too!

    I just got my 100mm F2.8 Macro and I think I will be falling for it a little later.

    I just felt that with F2.8 the focusing speed suddenly gets a lot better and more accurate – is this a right observation and reality?

    I had an old 28-135mm lens (Un-L) and compared to the 24-105mm L lens, clearly the result, esp the colors, is just so far apart.

    If so, I will aim to get F2.8 or faster lens when I work on my next Lens in the future. I am gravitating towards the 50mm F1.4.

    What do you think of the 100mm F2.8 macro lens? It is not an L and I bet the coating is not up to L standard but it would still be good enough for normal use.

    So goes the 50mm F1.4 I hope.

    • Hi virtualess,

      The EF 100mm f2.8 macro is a very good lens. Although it is not an L lens, the optical quality of most macro lenses should be very good and the 100mm f2.8 is not exception. After all, Canon only has one L grade macro lens, the 180mm f3.5, it is a lot more expensive, and the 10mm macro is certainly good value if you want to do macro work.

      The centre AF point of the 5D Mark II should be more sensitive with f2.8 or larger aperture lenses, so your observation about focusing maybe true.

      The EF 50mm f1.4 is a very fine lens with good optical quality and reasonable price and most people would be happy with it.

  2. Thanks again Roland, err, Dr.

    🙂

    I might run a test comparing 24-105mm L USM F4 lens with 100mm f2.8 Macro in terms of Macro & Portrait (will use the tubes on 24-105mm).

    My quick shots reveal that the color rendition (OK, my grammar and exp might not be correct here) is different on both Lens, shooting the same subject. The L version has stronger color texture and the non L one a bit plain.

    If time allows, I will post it on a new blog site here at wordpress.

    BTW, about lens’ prices – clearly Singapore and HK are cheaper places to get them compared to KL. Lens in KL are NOT 100% duty free. In Singapore GST applies and in HK I believe it is absolutely no duty and tax.

    I saved a lot (>20+++%) on the Lens I got from Singapore. I will shop there or HK in the future. So your price-list-blog-post is going to be a HOT post….

    May I ask what your opinion is on the 135mm L lens. I shoot lots of portrait and thinking it will be one of the next in line to invest. It is also relatively cheap in the L series line up.

    Tks again, and look forward to hearing from you.

    • Hi virtualess,

      The EF 135mm f2L USM is a lens with excellent optical quality. But you just bought the EF 100mm f2.8 macro and the focal length is pretty close between these 2 lenses, so you probably have no real urgency or need to get the 135mm.

  3. Hi Roland,

    Thanks again for the tips, it is certainly very helpful.

    In KL I have not found any store that will take trade-in. In Australia I believe they do, and I am glad that in HK according to your blog there is at least one store that takes trade in.

    If I ever land in HK I will certainly pay a visit to such store. I am very impressed with fast lens focusing on the M2 now, and will start savings for such fast(er) lens in the future.

    One step at a time.

    If you are free – please share your work flow with us. I am using a Mac with Canon’s DPP to work on all my RAW files. The ability to quickly correct any incorrect setting when pictures are taken within DPP is very handy – wrongly compensated, wrong picture style etc. After that I will clean up all files – remove and keep only those goods, and put them manually in certain repository. Lastly iPhoto (old version) is used to organize and synch them to my iPod (i got a touch mainly for viewing all the photos).

    This is not very handy, and I am constantly thinking of better workflow manner. Will be trying out Aperture soon.

    Me not pro, so detail / pro manipulation of photos is not something I wish to do at all.

    I found that photos that are synched to iPod touch via iTune is not of high quality. To enjoy viewing them as good as original, i use Airshare to transfer original JPG files (large) to iPod touch, and they truly look good.

    Hope to hear and learn from you again soon. Happy Weekending…. or Weekstarting…. End = Start

    • Hi virtualess,

      As far as my workflow is concerned, I mainly use 2 RAW converters at the moment, either Adobe Lightroom or Capture One Pro, depending on the kind of images. Adobe Lightroom workflow I feel is a bit better than Capture One Pro, but Capture One Pro has slightly better image quality conversion than Adobe Lightroom and has some image adjustment features that Adobe Lightroom does not have. Therefore, I use both depending on what kind of images I want to convert.

      I shoot exclusively in RAW, after conversion with either Lightroom or Capture One, the images were then further processed with Photoshop CS4, before outputting in final format either for the web or printing.

      I never use iPhoto for image organization and I don’t use iPod or iPhone either. So I can tell you much about what kind of workflow to use for iPod since I have no experience with this. I don’t particularly like iPhoto for image organization cause iPhoto would convert all photo files into one huge database files and I am always afraid if that one huge database file gets corrupted, then you would lose all your photos. Aperture works in the same way as far as I know, so that’s one reason why I do want to try Aperture.

  4. Congrats Roland, Even i am venturing into Food Photography just brought myself a TS-E 90 mm. Would love to get ideas & suggestions from you. Do you really need a flash for food photography?

    • Hi Arun,

      Basically, I never use flash for food photography. Practically all my food shots were taken while I was eating in different restaurants as a normal customer. Food shots look much more natural and appetizing with ambient light in the restaurant than using direct flash, which is too harsh, and food shots usually don’t look good.

      However, if you are paid to do commercial food shots for a restaurant or taking photos of your own dishes at home, then it’s possible to setup a couple of indirect flash or studio lighting, then the result maybe better than using ambient lighting.

  5. Hi Roland,

    Again thanks for sharing your experience.

    As far as I know iPhoto and Aperture does not touch the original files. I am using iPhoto now so I can confirm that. Aperture also works in the same way.

    Aperture does NOT work with sRAW formats from Canon, so goes iPhoto. So I will not use Aperture. iPhoto is essential to synch photos with iPod. The Pod thing is like my little memory device with all my past life photos stored in there!

    I will stick with DPP and then iPhoto for the time being. Photoshop CS4 is something I wish I have time to play around. Will explore the other 2 software you mentioned. You must be using a PC then.

    • Hi virtualess,

      I have been an Apple user for since Apple II (about 30 years) and Macintosh user since Mac SE (about 20+ years) and MacOS X user for about 8 years. I do have PC notebooks running Windows XP and Vista and a PC server running Fedora, but Mac has been my primary work machine and still is.

      As far as I know, iPhoto store all the photos you import into it in one big file called “iPhoto Library”, which is inside the Pictures folder. Although, you can access individual photo files within the iPhoto application, all the individual photos are actually still part of one huge “iPhoto Library” file. The “iPhoto Library” is not a folder, if you try to double click and open it directly, you will end up launching the iPhoto application. Whether you accept the way iPhoto stores all the photo is up to you. I personally do not like it. Of course there are other reason why I don’t use iPhoto, but that’s one of the primary reason. Of course when you import photos into iPhoto, it will not erase your original photo files if you choose not to. But then you will be storing basically 2 version of the same files on your harddisk, which takes up a lot of space. Of course one should always backup all the photo files, but I would backup on some external device. None of the other major image processing applications work in that way.

      I do all photo processing on my Mac with Mac version of DPP, Capture One Pro, Lightroom and Photoshop CS4. I have nothing aginst PC, but just want you to know I am primarily a Mac user.

Leave a Reply

