Panasonic DMC-GF1 To Be Avaialble in Hong Kong Soon

DMC-GF1C-K_2_2WebA1001001A09H06A75524J56699

The Panasonic DMC-GF1 should start shipping to camera shops in Hong Kong on 26/9/2009. The initial shipment is likely to be rather constraint. The list price the the kit with 20mm f1.7 is HK$7,490. Most large chain stores like Fortress and Broadway will likely sell at the list price with little or no discount initially. Echo Photo & Audio will be selling the kit for HK$6,400. I have 2 kits on order, one for a friend of mine and one for myself. I hope I will have time to do a review when I get my hands on it. No promise though as my Olympus Pen review is still in limbo and I likely won’t be publishing it anyway since it has already been widely reviewed at many sites.

14 thoughts on “Panasonic DMC-GF1 To Be Avaialble in Hong Kong Soon

  1. Hi Roland, first, congratulations for your great blog ! I will be in HG next month and i have a question : do yopu think the price you got from echo for your two GF1’s kits could be reproduced for a single buy ?

    Best Eric

  2. Hi Roland, just found your blog and will dig into your range of reviews.

    I guess we’re all looking for the holy grail of a decent digital equivalent of a rangefinder – compact, high quality optics and image quality (esp at high iso) and good handling. The GF1 seems to be getting close but it seems that the missing piece is the lack of viewfinder? Of course there’s the Leica M9 but the price……

  3. Hi Roland, amazed at the amount of time and resorces you spent sharing your reviews on photo equippments.

    Noticed that you have been using the EP1 and had order the Lumix GF1 back in Sept, just wondering what is your personal preference between the two. Coming back to HK next week and still trying to make up my mind as to which MFT to get as it is very hard to get the GF1 + the 20mm 1.7 at list price over here in the US. Now the announcment of EP2 is making this even more difficult. Love to hear your thoughts.
    Thanks in advance.
    Sunny

    • Hi Sunny,

      Sorry for the late reply. I have only just bought the Panasonic GF1 with the 20mm f1.7 in the recent few days due to various reasons, so I have only used it for a short while. I hope I will be able to find time to write up my thoughts on comparison between the Olympus Pen and the Panasonic GF1 in an article soon. There are definitely pros and cons for either camera. I don’t want to say too much yet until I have time to use the GF1 more.

  4. Hi Roland
    Normally i like to shop in Broadway or Fortress, because i am as foreigner scare to buy electronics Goods in small shops in Hong Kong
    is your recomend shop Echo Photo & Audio a big shop also like Boroadway? Can i trust that shop to buy Digital Still and Video Camera from that shop?
    Thank you for your advise

  5. Hi Roland,
    Would like to extend my profound thanks for your blog, the information you have provided will help me a lot on my planned camera purchase in hongkong this coming dec. 27.
    My question is, can i call up mr. yip of echo photo for information regarding the panasonic GF-1 camera kit? Also is the GF-1 kit available with the 14-42mm zoom kit? Do you think i should reserve one unit with echo photo just to be sure i get to buy the camera when i am in hk by dec.27?
    Thanks sanny

    • Hi Sanny,

      You should by all means call Mr Yip before you go to visit the shop to make sure they have what you wnat in stock. You can also ask him if he can reserve what you want for you. Mr Yip is a nice guy and he will help you if he can.

  6. Hi Roland, thx for all the infos.

    Do you have a price update for the 20mm 1.7 kit sold by Echo Photo & Audio at the 6400HK$?

Leave a Reply

