Taisetsu Kogen Onsen 大雪高原温泉

One of the earliest places to have red leaves in Japan is Taisetsu Kogen Onsen 大雪高原温泉 at Daisetsuzan National Park (大雪山国立公園) in Hokkaido near Sōunkyō. We were there last year during late September. The Autumn colors were really quite spectacular.

During peak season you will not be able to drive to Taisetsu Kogen Onsen directly. You can park you car at a large cark park nearby and take a shuttle bus there, which departs regularly during day time. It is also quite a bit coller up there, so make sure you take enough warm clothing with you.

All photos were taken with Canon EOS 5D Mark II with EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM and EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM.

6 thoughts on “Taisetsu Kogen Onsen 大雪高原温泉

  1. These are absolutely beautiful. I recently purchased my own 5d mark ii and I haven’t had the opportunity to shoot fall yet with it. I cannot wait to see how vivid the colors look. Did you have to enhance the saturation or use a warm filter? Or is this just how vividly the colors came out in the raw image?

    I look forward to seeing more of your work. Your photo of Angkor Thom brought me back to this past January which I spent in Cambodia. 😉

    • HI Bethany,

      Thanks! No, I did not use any filter for shooting. Of course I did post-processing, basically for all my photos. I did not specifically add “Saturation” as such during post-processing, but the post-processing routine as a whole would enhance the saturation and contrast of the photos. However, the color and saturation was already quite good in the RAW files straight out of the camera.

Leave a Reply

