Boxing Day Brunch at The Principal

Let me begin by saying Happy New Year to all the readers of my blog. I hope you will all have a great 2013! I am sorry that I have been rather busy the last few months and I have not updated my blog for awhile. However, I hope to be able to find more time to write new articles and answer questions this year.

Anyway, I will start off the new year by writing on Boxing Day brunch at The Principal, my new found favorite restaurant in 2012. I have been to this restaurant quite a few times in 2012 and every time I have thoroughly enjoyed the delicious food and wine there and impressed by immaculate service they provided. When the restaurant first opened, they were closed on Sunday. However, later on, they started serving brunch on Sunday. The word was that the brunch they served was quite amazing, so I finally went there on Boxing Day to try it out.

I am glad to report that I was more than pleased with the brunch. All the courses were delicious. Although on paper, the dishes may sounded simple, but most of them were not simple at all and had surprising twist in them. Say for example,  the first course was YOGHURT – Berry Compote, Yoghurt Mousse, Granola. From the photo below, it looked like a rather conventional bottle of yogurt in a glass bottle. But notice from the description that it is actually a yoghurt mousse rather than just plain normal yoghurt. Although the taste was yoghurt, but It has a surprisingly light texture in the mouth, quite unlike normal yoghurt.

At close to HK$690 per person, the price may seemed a bit high at first, but when you realized that only do they serve multiple courses, brunch also included unlimited free flow of fresh fruit juices, mineral water, beer, red and white wine, Champagne, tea and coffee, then you will understand the price is actually quite reasonable.

I will not repeat the name of the courses here, you can see them on this link. You can see them all from the photos below. I had a wonderful, filling and gratifying brunch. My only advise for you if you want to try out the brunch is that, do not drive. The Champagne and wines are very good too, and you would not want to drive after drinking the unlimited supply of wonderful wine and Champagne.

All photos were shot in RAW with Fujifilm X-Pro1 with Fujinon XF 35mm f1.4 R. The RAW files were converted with Adobe Lightroom 4 with further processing in Photoshop CS5 before final output to the web.

DSCF0386

DSCF0393

DSCF0403

DSCF0406

DSCF0407

DSCF0408

DSCF0410

DSCF0413

DSCF0414

DSCF0418

DSCF0424

 

 

 

DSCF0423

DSCF0427

DSCF0430

DSCF0433

DSCF0435

DSCF0439

DSCF0446

DSCF0453

DSCF0455

2 thoughts on “Boxing Day Brunch at The Principal

Leave a Reply

