Birthday Dinner at The Principal

I celebrated my birthday this year at The Principal, and if you are my regular reader, you would probably know this is my current favorite restaurant in Hong Kong. I have dined there regularly since they first opened just over a year ago. I have continued to enjoy their top class cuisine, evolving menu and their wonderful service. Therefore, I had no reservation about celebrating my birthday there this year. Once again, I am pleased to report that I had another great dinner there.

Over the last year, they have started to win all kinds of awards and accolades, including their first Michelin star in the 2013 Hong Kong and Macau Michelin Guide, one of Asia’s Top 500 Finest Restaurants in the 2013 Miele Guide, SCMP’s ‘100 Top Tables 2013’ and GAYOT’s 2013 Hot 10 Hong Kong Restaurants. I would like to congratulate chef Jonay Armas and The Principal on their achievement over such a short time!

Because I have dined at the Principal fairly often, chef Jonay has quite kindly started to cook some “not on the menu yet” dishes for me to try. So some of the dishes you will see are not yet on the menu, but you should be able to see them soon. Chef Jonay has kindly provided me with description of the dishes below each photo.

All the photos were shot in RAW with Fujifilm X-Pro1 with Fujinon XF 60mm f2.4 Macro R. The RAW files were processed with Capture One Pro with further processing in Photoshop CS5 before final output to the web.

DSCF2331

Bacon custard, sturgeon caviar

DSCF2337

Smoke haddock, artichoke, citric fruits, salmon roe, lemongrass

DSCF2339

iFoie- foie terrine, guava, pedro ximenez

DSCF2346

Onsen egg, sweet corn, white wine & cumin

DSCF2365

crispy red mullet, saffron, mussels

DSCF2372

venison, jerusalem artichoke, cheesnut, pearl onion, truffle, jus

DSCF2378

carrot cake, orange creme, carrot sorbet, buttermilk snow

DSCF2385

black sesame, macadamia,soy milk, miso ice cream

5 thoughts on “Birthday Dinner at The Principal

Leave a Reply

